Breaking the Darkness Series by Felicia Starr, Reviews

Reviews for the first 3 books in the Breaking the Darkness series by Felicia Starr.

Taken (Breaking the Darkness)


"You must betray your heart and walk amongst the darkness in order to find the truest light." 

Opening her eyes to an imposing prison of complete darkness, Kasha is accused of possessing powers and abilities she had no previous knowledge of until the moment she comes face to face with herself while meditating. Haunted by memories strung together by lies and deceit, she soon discovers that maybe her beloved grandmother kept a few secrets she hadn’t been aware of. Secrets that could be her salvation… or her undoing. 

As she struggles to control her newfound powers, only time will tell if they will be enough to help her decipher who has imprisoned her or what they want from her. She must search for the answers and the freedom she so desperately desires. Could a handsome guy who vows to help her get away prove to be the man of her dreams… or perhaps her worst nightmare? 

Not knowing who to trust, she must find a way to escape before she pays the ultimate price and finds herself taken by the darkness.


What a great read! It starts out a bit slow, but once it picks up it is well worth it. Taken has so many great elements. Some are adventure, danger, love, betrayal, and loss. Then there is the paranormal side of it all that our main character knew nothing of before now. Felicia Starr has pulled together a great story about more that what the eye can see or the ear can hear. There are some shockers in this tale, not only for Kasha, but for us as well. I can’t wait to see where Kasha’s journey takes us next and I am on pins and needles waiting to get some answers to some very important question.

I never knew that someone could have so many adventures while imprisoned in a small room. Kasha has been kidnapped and is kept in a dark room with little to eat and plenty of torture. She is at a loss to why they would want her. She is nothing special or is she? She finds she can do things she never knew of. While exploring her new found abilities she finds that there are more than just humans on earth. Different ones start offering help, but who can she trust and who has doomed her to darkness?

Purchase Taken

Marked (Breaking the Darkness 1.5)


A Breaking the Darkness Series Novella... 

While Kasha gets ready to graduate from college, her grandmother, Magenta Alexander, prepares for her return. Mage wanted Kasha to grow up and have a normal life, even knowing there was a possibility that Kasha would be anything but normal. Mage has kept things from her granddaughter, secrets that she must be told. 

Dangerous pacts are made, while magic and darkness lurk around every corner, and even those with the purest intentions must make tainted choices to protect the ones they love. 

Deals are struck, secrets are revealed, sacrifices will be made...but will it be enough to ward off the darkness? 

Warning: This book is intended for readers that have read Taken; there are spoilers in this book. 


Make sure to read Taken first because there are spoilers in this prequel.

In Marked we learn more about Kasha’s Gram, Mage. The timeline is set in the days before and during the terrible accident. Some questions are answered and more is created. Signs are given and danger lurks in the shadows. Find out what really happened to Kasha’s Gram.

Marked is a nice addition to the Darkness series. I was taken in by this vibrant grandma who would do anything to protect her beloved granddaughter. Felicia Starr done a great job tying in this story of the past in with what is going on in Taken, book 1 and I have this sneaking suspicion that I will see more play into book 2, Betrayed. She helps bring the elusive grandmother to life for us and helps us see why Mage hid truth from her granddaughter her whole life. Betrayed is a tale of life and death. I advise reading Marked, because it adds to the overall story.

Purchase Marked

Betrayed (Breaking the Darkness 2)


Kasha Alexander has been through a great deal since the death of her Gram, kidnapped, and abused, she has fought her way out of captivity with the help of the one man who just might be her saving grace, Graven. 

Graven has been searching for Kasha for a millennia and now that he’s found her, he’s not about to let her go. He will protect her in any form, no matter what the cost… 
Little does he know how high that cost will be…. 

Please be sure to read Taken and Marked before reading Betrayed, as it is meant to be a series. Enjoy the journey! ~ Felicia Starr.


Warning: Book contains mature content.

Each book just keeps getting better and better. I was drawn in quickly and couldn’t wait to find out where Felicia was going to take Kasha’s story next. Felicia paints such a vivid picture of it all. It makes you feel as if you are there and can visualize it all and feel right along with the characters. In Betrayed the journey becomes even more exciting. Some parts comes together to give us some much needed answers and some adds to the mysteries. I was so pleased when I would find I had pieced together some of this puzzle right and so shocked at times to find I was way off, especially the cliffhanger scene at the end. I so did not see that coming.

Betrayed seems to take on a life of its own. Like breaking out of its shell and taking flight. What a whirlwind adventure of danger, love, and betrayal. Betrayed is a great addition to the Breaking the Darkness series. The next book should be amazing and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

And the journey continues. Betrayed picks up right where Taken left off, in the middle of a, “What the heck?” part. Kasha is drawn more into the supernatural world. While trying to discover more about her real self, powers and all, she finds that danger lurks around every corner and trust shouldn’t be given freely. It starts to really heat up in Betrayed and it will leave you wanting more.

Purchase Betrayed

Find Felicia Starr


Post a Comment